Roasted Cauliflower Beer and Lime Tacos

These tacos are the bomb diggity. If I’m being honest, I was very skeptical when I decided to make this recipe. I love using cauliflower, but using it in a taco, I mean c’mon. But boy was I wrong. The roasted cauliflower resembles meat and I forgot that it was just vegetables in there. Even the boyfriend almost forgot it was a veggie taco. Don’t  believe me? Go on and try it. Let me know what you think.

I’ve been listening to this health podcast (The ultimate Health Podcast) and they cover so many topics! I plan to start talking a little bit some of the things that I decide to research on here. But, don’t fret,  I won’t write too much about the topics because I don’t want everyone to have to scroll 80 billion times to find the recipe . However, if  I can impart some healthy knowledge on you I will!


Ingredients
For the tacos:
1 cauliflower head
3/4 cup beer (Any beer you have on hand, except strong flavors like stouts, will work. I used Michelob Ultra)
1/4 cup vegetable broth
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 1/2 teaspoons tamari or soy sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons chipotle hot sauce
1 to 2 garlic cloves, sliced
1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon olive oil (or coconut oil)
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
6 corn tortillas
Salsa

Optional: Cilantro Coleslaw
1/2 head of green cabbage
1 small carrot
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon olive oil
A pinch of salt
1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions

  1. To make the tacos: Set your oven to 400°F. Grab a baking sheet and set aside. Chop* the cauliflower into small florets no bigger than a quarter. In a saucepan over medium heat, warm the beer, broth, lime juice, tamari, hot sauce, and garlic. Add the cauliflower, and simmer for about 1 1/2 minutes ( I let mine simmer for longer, if you do just watch it). Once that is done simmering, drain it.

2. Next, you’ll mix the spices, salt, and olive oil together in a large bowl. Then you’ll add in  the cauliflower and onion, and make sure they are coated well.  Dump the mixture  onto the baking sheet, and bake until browned. This recipe also said to stir it halfway through. I forgot (oops), and it turned out fine. It should take about 20 minutes to brown.

3. I fried my corn tortillas  because I like mine a little crispy. Once the cauliflower is done, you’ll make a taco. I am not going to explain how to make a taco. You should be able to figure it out.  I added the cilantro slaw and a homemade salsa on top.

4. To make the slaw: Cut the cabbage into thin 2 inch strips. Next, you’ll chop the carrot into thin matchsticks (also 2 inches). In a bowl, mix together the lime juice, vinegar, oil, and salt. Add the dressing right before you are going to eat and make sure to coat well. Add the cilantro just before serving.

* I found that tearing the cauliflower by hand is easier than using a knife to chop. It’s up to you.

 

 

Much love and good vibes

xx

Leave a Reply

