Quinoa Oatmeal

The other week I ordered my first cookbook! I am stoked to start my collection. The book I bought is called Thug Kitchen and it’s amazing! If you’ve never heard of it before you should watch this promo video (click here). Forewarning the video and book contain a lot of swear words.. if that offends you…get over it because this book has some delicious freakin recipes. Oh, and it’s just happens to be a vegan cookbook (obviously you can add meat if you wish. No I am not vegan but that doesn’t mean I can’t eat the yummy non-meat recipes).  I’ve only made one thing so far (hence the post today). But everything that I make will be featured on the blog.  So get ready my friends!

thug

Anyone who knows me well knows that I am NOT a morning person. (I’ve kinda been forced to become one over the last couple of months because of my crazy puppy Piper. I am slowly teaching her to sleep in though.. don’t worry ;))  Even though I know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day I like sleep. It’s hard to budget extra time (at least for me) in the morning when I already struggle. BUT this is a great recipe to make the night before so you can just heat it up and go or even eat it at work.  The best thing about this is that you can add fruit, spices, etc. I personally like this with cinnamon and a little brown sugar (and when I say little I mean like maybe 2 small pinches) or stevia/honey if you don’t want the sugar.  This is filled with protein, and will keep you full. Plus it’s so hearty and warm on cold days.


 

Quinoa Oatmeal

Cook time: 30 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup of oats
  • 4 cups of water
  • sweetener of your choice
  • fruits/spices
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk*
*When I made this recipe all I had was whole milk and I wasn’t about to go to the store just for almond milk… and obviously this isn’t technically vegan with normal milk but it is healthy!

 

Directions

  1.  Heat up in the water in a pot or in the microwave until it’s boiling
  2. n a small saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the oats and stir until the oats smell a little toasty ( I did mine for about 3 minutes). Add the quinoa and oats to the boiling water.
  3. Once it is boiling, turn down the heat ( I personally put it on a 2-2.5) and let it simmer uncovered. Leave it for 25-30 minutes. Once it’s done add the milk and turn off the heat.

 

 

Recipe cred: Thug Kitchen (Eat like you give a F**), page 3

Photo cred: (Insert brown emoji girl with hand up)

 

Happy eating!

 

Leave a Reply

