Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

SO…last recipe post I said I would be posting in the next couple of days… and I didn’t quite get to that.. BUT the good news is I finally got all of the food pics from my phone to my computer! That means I’m THAT much closer to putting the 4 other recipes ( including protein cookies and Not-so-healthy-but-kinda pumpkin muffins).  But for right now I am posting what I made for din din last night. It is one of my favorites so far.  This particular recipe was a vegetarian spaghetti squash lasagna but you could totally add meat or more veggies. Next time I make it I’m adding jalapeños or cayenne to make it spicy.

PS: I get a ton of inspiration from pinterest… and If you want to follow my board called “Delicious” that has a lot of recipes on it.  You can find me http://www.pinterest.com/khill13


Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

Cook time: 60 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash
  • 2 cups of marinara sauce
  • ½ cup part Ricotta cheese
  • 1½ cups part skim shredded mozzarella
  • Handfuls of Spinach
squash in pan
Place a little water in the pan with the spaghetti squash cut side down and place in the microwave for 10 minutes

squash

tomato layer
Marinara layer
layer 1
First layer
layering
Second layer

spinach layer

Before oven
Place a layer of Mozzarella on top
SSL
Cook for 20 minutes and broil for 7-9 minutes depending on how brown you want the cheese
bowl
YUM

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400.
  2. Carefully slice your spaghetti squash in half.
  3. Scoop out the seeds and flip them cut side down on a large microwave safe plate.
  4. Add a little water to the bottom of the plate (to create steam) and microwave on high for 10 minutes ( I was extremely skeptical about the microwave method.. I usually put mine in the crockpot BUT this definitely worked!)
  5. In a small casserole dish add a thin layer of marinara sauce to the bottom.
  6. Combine the rest of the marinara sauce with the ricotta cheese.
  7. Once the spaghetti squash is done in the microwave, scoop out the insides with a folk. The squash will be EXTREMELY hot so be careful and let it cool for a while.
  8. Then layer in spaghetti squash over the sauce.
  9. Top with sauce  and layer with spinach * and repeat with spaghetti squash.
  10. Cover the whole pan with mozzarella cheese and cover with aluminum foil.
  11. Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes.
  12. Turn to broil for an additional 7-9 minutes. You could do more or less time. It just depends on how brown and bubbly  you want the cheese.

*I forgot to do this so I poked spinach throughout the pan and then added a layer of spinach over the final layer of squash.

Recipe Cred: http://iheartvegetables.com/2015/08/21/spaghetti-squash-lasagna/

Photo Cred: Yours truly

Happy Healthy Eating!

Leave a Reply

