Creamy Pumpkin Soup

HEY WHAT’S UP HELLO.

I’ve been MIA for a long time. A lot has happened over the last month and a half… and to be honest I have been busy and didn’t feel like posting 🙂  BUT FEAR NOT fellow readers.. I am back with a vengeance (insert sunglasses emoji here).

Winter is coming. Fall is my absolute favorite. I love the chilly (not ridiculously cold) weather. The pretty changes in the leaves (except in Texas) and PSL’s (Pumpkin Spice Lattes for all you non-basics out there). Another thing I love is soups. Especially during the colder months. Today I made a pumpkin soup I found on Pinterest. Also, I recently heard that rubbing the spices between your palms helps release the flavor of the spice.

PS: I have about 3-4 other recipes I will post soon! Sorry for the overload.


 Creamy Pumpkin Soup 

Cook Time : about 1.5 hours

Ingredients* 

  • 3 Cups Chicken broth ( I used Bouillon Cubes)
  • 2 Cups Pumpkin Puree
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Onion
  • 1/2 Tsp Dried Thyme (you can also use fresh)
  • 1 Garlic Clove, Minced
  • 6 Whole black peppercorn
  • 1/2 Tsp Dried Ginger (you can also use fresh)
  • 1/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/8 Tsp Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream

* Sometimes I can’t follow directions or read very well. I grabbed a 29 oz can of pumpkin.. which is about 4 cups not two.. so I had to double the recipe.. Oops

unnamed

SPices and pumpkin

Final

Directions

  1.  In a pot, combine the first 9 ingredients ( IE: everything  but the whipping cream) and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 30 minutes ( no need to put a cover on).
  3. Using some sort of blender puree the soup.
  4. Return the soup to the pot and bring to a boil again.
  5. Reduce heat to low and simmer for another (yes another) 30 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat and stir in the heavy whipping cream

Recipe Cred: http://www.thecomfortofcooking.com/2012/12/creamy-pumpkin-soup.html

Photo Cred: MOI

Happy healthy eating!

Leave a Reply

