Inspirational/Motivational Rant and First recipe: Tomato Basil Zucchini Pasta with Asparagus and Goat Cheese

Hi y’all!

I was very fit and active in high school (I played volleyball, basketball, soccer and ran track). Then came college. I actually lost weight my freshmen year. But sophomore year came and it was downhill from there. It was never an immediate weight gain with me… never that dreaded “freshmen 15”. My weight gain was gradual… a couple pounds here or there. I came into college at 125 and left 163. And the thing was while I was in college, even with all the partying and drinking, I hadn’t really noticed. I mean sure I had to buy bigger sizes but I’ve always had curves. One day  I was looking in the mirror and I decided I didn’t want to feel or look the way I did anymore.

I started my health and fitness journey in June of 2014 and that quickly turned into a lifestyle.  In the beginning I decided to try the paleo diet. After 2-3 months of working out 5 times a week and eating the paleo way  I saw significant progress. At that point I transitioned to just eating healthy instead of strictly following the paleo diet. I started out at 163 and made my way down to 130.  I went from a size 8-9 to a size 2-3.  I am for the first time in a long time happy with my body again. More importantly I am healthy, have more energy, and I feel better.  Don’t get me wrong there are still days where I “feel fat” and I know I am not. It’s hard not seeing what I’ve seen in the mirror for the past several years.   I don’t eat healthy 100 % of the time either! I mean some days call for a bottle of wine… or two 😉 but I workout on a consistent basis and chose the healthier option most of the time. It’s all about balance and being happy for yourself. This blog isn’t here to encourage you to be skinny or lose weight.. it’s simply here to show you how easy and delicious it is to be healthy.

Enough with the inspirational/motivational rant.

I’ve had a lot of people ask about the recipes I post Instagram so I decided to keep them all in one place….. so voila.

PS: I get a lot of recipes from pinterest and yummly. and you can add or substitute wherever you want. I personally hate mushrooms so don’t expect to see that in my recipes. and I hate corn in things… like salsa or soup.. and yes I know it’s weird or so my boyfriend claims.

Sunday Dindin: Tomato Basil Zucchini Pasta with Asparagus and Goat Cheese

Total time: 55 mins

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic (minced)
  • 1/3 cup diced red onions
  • 14 ozs diced tomatoes (with juices)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 5 asparagus spears (large)
  • 2 zucchini (medium)
  • 1 tbsp basil (chopped, + more to garnish)
  • 2 ozs goat cheese
  • red pepper flakes (to garnish)

** I used Rotel Hot Diced Tomatoes and I also added a can of tomato sauce to make it more saucey.

Tomato Basil Sauce

vegetti

Zucchini noodles

Directions:

  1. Place a large skillet over medium heat and add in the olive oil. Once oil heats, add in the garlic and onions and cook for 2-3 minutes or until onions start to soften and become translucent.
  2. Add in the tomatoes (This is where I added the can of tomato sauce) and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes.
  3. While sauce cooks, spiralize the zucchinis ( I used the Veggetti Pro and got it at bed bath and beyond. You can get them at most places like Walmart, Target, etc or online) and cut the asparagus* into pieces.
  4. Once sauce is done, place another large skillet over medium-high heat and once heated, add in the zucchini noodles and asparagus. Let cook for 2-3 minutes or until al dente.
  5. While zucchini cooks, add in the basil to the tomato sauce and stir for 1 minute. Then, remove from heat and stir in the goat cheese.
  6. When noodles are done, add to the pan with the sauce and toss to combine (alternately, you can combine both in a large mixing bowl and toss that way, if you don’t have a wide enough skillet to accommodate the noodles.)
  7. Divide the pasta mixture into bowls, top with remaining goat cheese and garnish with extra basil and red pepper flakes.

*The original recipe says to  “shave the asparagus by peeling it into strips with a vegetable peeler. Keep the asparagus tips for future use and toss the remaining asparagus stalks. You can also include the asparagus tips, if you’d like, but I didn’t”.

Recipe cred: http://inspiralized.com/2015/08/23/tomato-basil-zucchini-pasta-with-goat-cheese-and-asparagus/

Veggetti photo: Google images

Leave a Reply

